Dr. Barry Saltz Says ‘Enova LED Surgical Headlight Puts You in the Game Instead of Sitting on the Sidelines,’ He Doesn’t Perform Dentistry Without One

Dr. Saltz & Son

Shedding Light sat down to talk with Barry Saltz, DDS, who has been in family dental practice since 1984 and is also an Assistant Clinical Professor at the University of New England’s College of Dental Medicine. He was an early owner of an Enova Illumination LED Surgical Headlight and still uses his IRIS 200 today.

Shedding Light: Tell us about your practice and what you’re doing today.

Dr. Saltz: I had been in practice for nearly 30 years in Portland, Maine, when in February 2013, my dental office and family-owned building were destroyed by fire. I relocated to Scarborough, a community nine miles south of Portland, just two months later. After re-establishing my patient base in the new location, I sold my practice March 2015 to Dr. Anna Sweet, a wonderful young practitioner, and now work as her employee. While working two days a week at my former practice, I also teach two days at the University of New England and will add another day in the near future.

Shedding Light: How has dentistry changed since you first entered the profession?

Dr. Saltz: Technology has driven many changes, both clinical and administrative. Amalgam, or ‘silver fillings,’ have largely been replaced by resin ‘white’ composite restorations. Dental implants are commonplace and highly predictable today–a far cry from the 1980s. Crown and bridge treatment has evolved from the ‘lost wax technique’ to CAD/CAM technology with increasing frequency and use. Many dental practices have CAD/CAM milling machines and is now taught across dental schools today. Ceramic materials have improved in both strength and aesthetics. Digital radiography in addition to dental CAT scan technology allows for sharper images, reduces radiation exposure, makes diagnosing and treatment planning simpler and more predictable across the spectrum…from pathology, placing implants, to orthognathic surgery and more. In addition, it is rapidly becoming the standard of care in endodontics (the field of root canal treatment). In terms of the “back office,” long gone are the days of the appointment book and hand written ledger. As with our medical colleagues, many offices are completely paperless, bringing in other computer capabilities as well as social media to allow for branding and marketing.

Shedding Light: How has dental lighting changed over the years? What is necessary for dental procedures?

Dr. Saltz: Indoor lighting overall is much better than when I first opened practice. Not only has technology made operatory lighting more economical and advantageous for the environment, the actual color temperature and balance has also dramatically improved. In terms of headlights, Enova leads the way.

As I was quoted in a 2007 testimonial, “… the IRIS LED surgical headlight is the best on the market. I can’t practice without it. Used with loupes, it puts you ‘in the game’ versus ‘watching from the sidelines.” I still firmly believe that today. For most dental procedures I wear expanded field 3.5X magnification loupes although I also have a 4.5X set of loupes….both worn in harmony with my IRIS 200 headlight.

Dr. SaltzThe IRIS LED surgical headlight is the best on the market. I can’t practice without it. Used with loupes, it puts you in the game versus watching from the sidelines. ~ Dr. Barry Saltz

 

Shedding Light: The IRIS 200? That’s one of Enova’s earlier headlight models.

Dr. Saltz: It is. I actually had two of the original Enova headlights, one with the batteries on the headband and both were destroyed in the fire. The IRIS 200 is a great headlight. I generally use it at 100,000 lux although there are procedures that I take it up to around 150,000 lux (capable to 200,000). It provides bright, clear white light. Quite frankly, the mouth can be like a ‘cave’ and combined with working in fraction of millimeters, I simply cannot work without adequate magnification and lighting, my IRIS 200.

Shedding Light: How did you first hear about Enova?

Dr. Saltz: My colleague and friend, Dr. Jeffrey Doss, an oral surgeon from Portland, introduced me to the company in 2005. My first Enova headlight was the Halo with the batteries on the headband. I fell in love with the headlight then and Enova clearly continues to offer the best LED surgical headlights in the market.

Shedding Light: What specifically makes the Enova headlights so valuable?

Dr. Saltz: There are multiple reasons for the light’s value. First, the light and headband itself is quite light and very comfortable. The illumination is pure white light with incredible intensity, providing clear view of the operating field even the darkest corners. Finally the battery quality is simply outstanding. I can see 40-50 patients in a day on the same charge without any degradation in power.

Shedding Light: Is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

Dr. Saltz: Dental students at the University certainly appreciate the IRIS 200 when I work with them. With combined college and dental school debt, a student could expect to owe as much as $650,000; a new surgical headlight is out of reach for the majority of them. Enova’s Resident Program is terrific because it allows a student/resident to purchase a headlight at a step discount. Adam, my older son, was recently accepted to a Periodontal Honors Program his last year of dental school at Nova Southeastern, and is in the middle of applying to post graduate periodontal residencies. Confident of his achievements and his continued success, I bought him the new Cyclops XLT-125 as a gift–after he asked me for one! And, now that I purchased one for Adam I’ll have to do the same for my other son Mason, a finance major at Northeastern who is in the midst of his first co-op at KKR in Manhattan…hoping it will help him navigate his way around the city!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Dr. Barry Saltz Says ‘Enova LED Surgical Headlight Puts You in the Game Instead of Sitting on the Sidelines,’ He Doesn’t Perform Dentistry Without One

  1. Ashish shah says:

    Sir
    I am intreted in LED headlight.
    Please give me quotation or your distubutor in india.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

